Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Exhibition: "29 x 29" at Bruce Silverstein Gallery – April 19-21

“29 x 29”
School of Visual Arts alumni donate work to support arts education in NYC public schools
Photography portfolio to raise funds for The Center for Arts Education

Exhibition: April 19 – 21, 2012
Opening Reception: Thursday, April 19, 6 – 8pm
Bruce Silverstein Gallery                                            
529 West 20th Street, 3rd floor, New York City

(New York, March 5, 2012) — An accomplished group of graduates from the MFA Photography, Video and Related Media Department at the School of Visual Arts (SVA) have donated original work to create 29 x 29, a limited-edition photography portfolio, the sale of which will benefit The Center for Arts Education (CAE), a nonprofit organization dedicated to ensuring that New York City public school students receive quality arts education throughout their K-12 school years. An exhibition of the work selected for the portfolio project will be on view at Bruce Silverstein Gallery, 529 West 20th Street, 3rd floor, New York City, from April 19 – 21, 2012. The exhibition “29 x 29” is co-presented by The Center for Arts Education, the MFA Photography, Video and Related Media Department at SVA and Bruce Silverstein Gallery.

Rising to the vanguard of their field, the artists of “29 x 29” have had their work exhibited internationally at institutions including the Museum of Modern Art; the Metropolitan Museum of Art; the Walker Art Center; the Guggenheim Museum; the J. Paul Getty Museum and Tate Modern, among others, and have had their work featured in publications including The New York Times, The New Yorker, ARTnews and Art in America. The 29 participating artists are: Adam Bell, Alison Brady, Margarida Correia, Kate Cunningham, Rachel Feierman, Abigail Feldman, Sarina Finkelstein, Christopher Fisher, Shuli Hallak, Thomas Holton, Shai Kremer, Molly Landreth, Gina Levay, Jeff Liao, Karen Moscovitch, Yamini Nayar, Rachel Papo, Suellen Parker, Matthew Pillsbury, Nicholas Prior, Kanako Sasaki, Sarah Schorr, Alix Smith, Amy Stein, Lorenzo Triburgo, Jan Wandrag, Shen Wei, JeongMee Yoon and Nina Young.

PRESS RELEASE:  http://www.sva.edu/events/events-exhibitions/29-x-29

No comments: